You can grow your own food. We can help.

Gardening related journals for Mediterranean regions, plus a few other interesting publications and links

Mar 06, 2010

I read recently that Southern California is one of just a few places in the world that have a Mediterranean climate.  The other regions are the Mediterranean (of course), Chile, South Africa and West Australia.  (Robert Smaus, Los Angeles Times California Gardening, Harry N. Abrams, Inc., Publishers, New York, 1983).  These regions are all equidistant from the equator, dry but not desert, and they adjoin the great deserts of the world.  Ibid.

Of course this summer, we have been having monsoon weather in my region, though without the rainfall.  So in humid years, perhaps gardeners in my region should look for advice to gardening publications from humid areas such as the American South and parts of China.

After doing some research, below are some of the more interesting publications and links I found concerning edible gardening in these regions of the world:

South Africa
S A Fruit Journal http://www.safj.co.za

Australia
Growcom www.growcom.com.au/home/inner.asp?pageID=41 
Warm Earth: organic gardening www.warmearth.com.au/index.html

France
Jardineries Vegetal: le journal des commerces du jardin  http://www.jardineries.com/accueil.html   Too bad I don't read French!

California
Cultivar (University of California, Santa Cruz, Center for Agroecology & Sustainable Food Systems) http://www.ucsc.edu/casfs
Fruit Gardener (California Rare Fruit Growers) http://www.crfg.org
Garden Compass Magazine: California's Gardening Guide http://www.gardencompass.com/

American South
Carolina Gardener Magazine  http://www.carolinagardener.com/index.php
Florida Gardening http://www.floridagardening.com 
Kentucky Gardener http://www.kentuckygardener.com/
Neil Sperry's Gardens (Texas) http://www.neilsperry.com/gardens/
Texas Gardener: the magazine for Texas Gardeners  http://www.texasgardener.com
Virginia Gardener http://www.vagardener.com
New Zealand
Weekend Gardener  http://www.weekendgardener.co.nz/

China
Guoshu Xuebao (Journal of Fruit Science) http://gskx.periodicals.net.cn/
Yuanyi Xuebao (Acta Horticulturae Sinica) http://yyxb.periodicals.net.cn/

Comments

Different people in all countries get the loans goodfinance-blog.com from different banks, just because it is easy.
Go up here when you long to buy essay without spending a lot of money. Use term paper writing services suggested by supremely gifted writers.

Add comment

Log in or register to post comments

Kitchen Gardeners UNITE!

We are a nonprofit community of over 30,000 people from 100 countries who are growing our own food and helping others to do the same.

Join Us!

or subscribe to our e-list:

  

Praise for KGI:

"A group that can get
things done"

-Mother Nature Network

"One of the web's best sources of gardening info"
-Washington Post 

"The meeting place of the world's gardeners"
-WorldWatch Institute

more here

 

 
 

About us:

KGI is a nonprofit community of over 30,000 people who are growing some of our own food and helping others to do the same.  

Join our mailing list:

 

Connect with us:

Contact us:

Kitchen Gardeners International
3 Powderhorn Drive,
Scarborough, ME, 04074, USA
info@kgi.org
(207) 956-0606